top of page
  • The Gallery

PLP announces 18 election candidates

The Progressive Liberal Party announced 18 of its candidates in the 2022 General Election during a special National General Council meeting held at the party’s headquarters on Tuesday night.

Among the newly ratified candidates are some familiar faces including former Attorney General and Minister of Education Alfred Sears who hopes to be returned to his Fort Charlotte seat. Also representing the party in the next election are attorney Wayne Munroe in Freetown, former Minister of State for Finance Michael Halkitis in St. Barnabas, former beauty queen and daughter of a former cabinet minister Leslia Miller for Seabreeze, PLP Chairman Fred Mitchell for Fox Hill, former Minister of State for National Security Keith Bell for Carmichael, former Bahamas Union of Teachers president Zane Lightbourne for Yamacraw , PLP senator Jo-Beth Coleby Davis for Elizabeth and attorney Jomo Campbell for Centreville.

Newcomers include Wayde A. Watson (Bain and Grants Town), Mario K. Bowleg (Garden Hills), Ronald Duncombe (Killarney), Tyrell Grave Young (Long Island), Basil W. McIntosh (MICAL),

Mckell De’Angelo Bonaby (Mount Moriah), Jamahl Strachan (Nassau Village), Bacchus Rolle (South Beach) and Leonardo Lightbourne (North Andros and the Berry Islands).

“Our Candidates Committee had the difficult task of selecting candidates from a very talented applicant pool. With our country facing multiple, very serious, crises, they have been focused on choosing a team that can hit the ground running, ready to make a difference on day one,” the party said in a statement.

The PLP launched a training module for all aspirant candidates and individuals wishing to serve in local government, on statutory boards or as diplomats.

The new initiative was mandatory for all aspirant candidates, including former MPs.

1,134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page